penne arugula

penne arugula

Penne with arugula, cherry tomatoes, shallots & goat cheese. This dish is serious comfort food when served hot and the leftovers (if there are any) make a very tasty pasta salad. Instructions are below the links…

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

  • penne
  • arugula
  • cherry tomatoes
  • goat cheese
  • shallots
  • garlic
  • olive oil
  • salt & freshly ground pepper
  • chili flakes

Cut the cherry tomatoes in half and place in a baking dish. Add the shallots and garlic (peeled and cut in half lengthwise), chili flakes, salt & pepper and toss with olive oil.  Bake in a 200º oven for about half an hour, or until the shallots are soft. When the mixture is almost done, cook the penne.

Toss the hot penne with arugula and add the hot cherry tomato mixture. Add crumbled goat cheese, toss again and serve.

8 Responses to “penne arugula”

  1. Wandering Coyote Says:

    This looks amazing! I love arugula, too. I tried growing some this year, but it didn’t work out too well.

    • azahar Says:

      A patch of arugula and basil would totally make happy. But as I live in an apartment this is but a dream. On the other hand, I could ask my student who owns the fab Italian restaurant across the street to order some for me wholesale!

  2. The Nag Says:

    I’ll be making this soon. I ate a lot more meat than I was used to when I was in Argentina and am leaning towards meals with less cow in them,

    • azahar Says:

      Oh but, isn’t Argentinian beef wonderful! I envy you having gone directly to the source. But I also understand when things get “out of balance” and “too much of a good thing”.

      I reckon this very flavourful pasta dish could very well be the too-much-cow antidote you are seeking. It’s wonderfully satisfying.

  3. alejna Says:

    I tried a version of this a couple of days ago, and it was soooo good. I sautéed the shallots instead of roasting them with tomatoes, and also included sautéed sliced “baby bella” mushrooms (little portobellos). I think this will be one of my all-time favorite pasta dishes.

    • azahar Says:

      Did you still use the cherry toms? I think the roasting creates a different fusion of the flavours than sautéeing does, but your version with portobellos also sounds good.

      • alejna Says:

        I still used cherry tomatoes, and still roasted them. John’s not keen on things in the onion family, so it was easier to keep all the shallots for myself by sauteeing them.

        I also just really like sauteed shallots. I slice them up very thin, and they get a bit crispy. I will have to try roasting them some time though, to try them that way.

  4. bacon & seta risotto « azahar's kitchen Says:

    […] started making this one with broccoli florets, then thought to try it with fresh arrugula, as in this penne & arrugula dish, and it turned out […]


Leave a comment